Friday, February 25, 2005

Let myself introduce ... uh, myself.


Okay, here are the basics:
My name is Deann Bethine Barrera. (The middle name is pronounced beth-EEN. I'm named after my grandmother). I am the only girl and the eldest child in a family of 4 children. I am 26 - will be 27 in July. I love English, hate math. Terrible with money, really good at listening. I alternately moderately like and intensely dislike TV. (I only like it when a CSI-like show is on). I love music. I dislike housecleaning, but if I have music on, it's tolerable. My dad is Mexican. My mom is White (Anglo-European). Much to my chagrin, Spanish was not spoken in the home. Consequently, I don't feel like I have many ties to that portion of my heritage, although I am forever trying to immerse myself in that world to learn more. I am constantly taking art classes. Pottery was fun, but black & white photography is my new favorite. I like old cameras - right now I use an Olympus OM1 from the 70's. I am just now getting the hang of ebay for the sole purpose of purchasing another old camera. I love coffee - the stronger the better. I prefer ales and import beers to domestics. I feel better when I eat vegetarian, but it's difficult in a family where everyone else is convinced that there is no substitute for meat. Lots. Of. Meat. I like to cook pasta and make pizzas because there is a lot of room for creativity with the ingredients. So far, that is about all I cook. I am trying to expand that particular repertoire, though. My best friend just moved to Hollywood and is the office manager for a huge porn/sex toy empire who shall remain un-named. Needless to say, she has a lot of stories to tell at the end of the week. I just moved from urban life in Downtown San Diego to the suburbs of Temecula, about an hour away. I miss the city, but I'm in love with a great man and his two children and there is nowhere else I would rather be (most days, anyway). I tend to try most things at least once and prefer them to be a little on the left of mainstream. I am planning on getting a giant sea turtle tattoo this summer. I like farmer's markets on Sunday mornings, taking pictures of people in the city, all kinds of dogs (my faves are the weimeraner and the bully breeds - I want to adopt a deaf dog someday), siamese cats with really pointy faces and bat ears, the beach, eating healthfully, improving my Spanish skills, watching films with subtitles and a billion and one other things that if you want to know, just ask.

I started this blog for a few reasons. I have a myspace account and enjoyed posting in the blog section there, but it seemed more of a jumping off point than a place for my words to reside long-term. Secondly, I have kept a journal for years and this is way more organized than the little scraps of paper I usually jot things down on. And lastly, I started reading one blog, then two and then suddenly I had a whole list of blogs I was checking on a daily basis. At one point, I said to myself, "Hey, I can do this! I like to write and sometimes, people actually like to read it. Why not?" I'm still learning the ropes here, but I guess I could say that I was inspired to get on and give it a whirl.

Thanks for stopping by, don't forget to leave a comment every now and then. Glad we could spend this time getting more acquainted... maybe next time we'll do lunch?